We use cookies and third-party cookies to gather information in order to improve our services and analyze your browsing habits. If you continue to browse, we consider you accept this use. You can get more information, or how to change the settings, in our Cookie Policy

Salou.com
Leisure, tourism and weekend
Arrival & transport Arrival & transport
Hotels and Aparthotels Hotels and Aparthotels
Apartments to rent Apartments to rent
Camping Camping
Beaches and nudist beaches Beaches and nudist beaches
Food and Drink Food and Drink
Discover Salou Discover Salou
PortAventura and more PortAventura and more
Shopping and Services Shopping and Services
The Night The Night
Tours and excursions Tours and excursions

Salou / Information / Discover and sightseeing

Route of the Medinas



Mont-ral
Route of the Medinas



 Tour the interior of Catalonia and the lands of the Gaza Islamic Speaker to discover the past five counties: Noguera, the Segrià, Ribera d'Ebre, Baix Ebre Baix Cinca. The axis formed by the river Ebro, Cinca-Segre structure that territory through a combination in mind: the city and urban gardens. Each of these rivers has its course in middle and lower one or more cities to ensure the control of territories with a high economic performance. So, the Segre has kernels Balaguer (Balagî) and Lleida (Lârica), while the Cinca, also known as the River of Olives (Nahr az-zaitún), nuclei are as Monzon (Munt Shun) and Fraga ( Ifraga). The Ebro has, in the area in question, an important fortress gradually becomes a city like Mequinensa (Miknása) and a large city like Tortosa (Tartusha), which controls both the final stretch of the river and 'coastal area. The two themes that make up this route are: life in Islamic cities of the frontier (X-XII), including agricultural base that was at the root of its existence, and evolution Muslim communities living under Christian rule (Mudejar and Morisco) until his expulsion in the early century XVII. In this region, is embodied the cultural and artistic splendor of the Andalusian frontier society. Here we find traces of splendid palaces from the Taifa accurate to the manufacturing of local artisans, without neglecting the urban or developed the simple comfort of a private invariably organized around a central courtyard in the middle which always find a well . Balaguer Reached from Lleida taking the C-13 in NE to La Seu d'Urgell. Museo de la Noguera. Catalonia is the only museum that specializes in Andalusian period of Islam. There is permanent exhibition Hisn Balagî-Balaguer. The city of Medina is a review from the origins of this town to become the county of Urgell. Old Quarter. In medieval times, retains Mercadal, arcade, and some streets and squares are framed within the wall count. Plan of Almaty (714-739). Walled Andalusian is the site most interesting of Catalonia. It was built to serve housing and bridge support for Muslim armies, through the valley of the Segre, S undertook the conquest of France in the early century VIII. 24 towers are visible and much of the wall paintings. Excavations show the interior of this enclosure, which highlights the large area of ​​some houses excavated (between 200 and 300 m2), a section devoted to the production of ceramics and a necropolis. Castle Formós (897-898). This castle was built to control the surrounding territory. Played this role until, in mid-century XI, the interior was fully renovated to install it the palace of the sovereign Taifa Lleida. After conquering feudal from 1095 to 1101, became the residence of the Counts of Urgell, which conditioned the palace as his principal. Ferdinand ordered the removal of the county home and the demolition of the palace in 1413. The structures for the Taifa era palace have been partially revealed by the excavations. Lleida The Suda. Between 800-809, Louis the Pious made a raid and destroyed the city, which was rebuilt and fortified the 883-884. Then, the fortress was built in the Suda, the Sovereign and the Rock mosque. One of the few castles of Islamic origin that have been preserved, although it was later converted by Christians. La Seu Vella. The mosque built in the same period as the fortress of Suda became later under Christian domination, the former St. Mary of the cloisters of his old, notably the Gates of the Annunciation. Seròs Reached by the AP-4, exit 2. Vinganya Monastery. And for Seròs populated by Moors and was retaken in 1149. In 1201 he founded the Trinitarian monastery, located on the left bank of the Segre, near the confluence with the Cinca. It was the first monastery of the Order. Since 1236, women became Trinitarian monastery until 1529, returned the religious year, it remained until the secularization of 1835. In Seròs, there is also the former stately palace of Moncada, Marquis of Aitona, which were territorial lords of the place. Fraga Access from Seròs taking the road towards the C-45 N. Old Quarter. During the Muslim era, was an important town in the worth of Lleida. Conquered in 1149 by Ramon Berenguer IV, became part of the Montcada lordship and part of the Templars (barony Fraga). Although the division of James I, the town remained within the Principality until probably the end of the century XV. Its population was mixed, Moors and Christians, to the expulsion of the Moors in 1610, when the town went into decline. The old town stretches along the left bank of five, and until the end of the century XV had been a Jewish quarter. Among the most notable buildings, the Church of St. Peter, built over a mosque, which preserves part of the Romanesque building (XII) and its characteristic steeple Mudejar style. We should also mention the Governor's palace and the houses Junqueres, Monfort and drilled. Mequinensa Reached by the N-211 towards S. Castle. It was built in medieval times above the Serreta Castle (245 m), a magnificent observatory control of the confluence with the Ebro Segre, framed in the Gothic style. This building responds essentially to the needs of fortification and was reinforced by s. Eighteenth and nineteenth defensive works. It has been recently restored. Ascó To access it, resumed the road Seròs (C-45) and continue towards the south, from Maials, the C-12 in the same sense of motion. Old Quarter. Probably, this town was a castle in the Islamic kept one step of the Ebro. In 1151, the site remained in the hands of Christians and the castle belonged to the Knights Templars. The Muslim population remained until 1610, when it was decreed their expulsion. Of the remaining eleven families, seven were allowed to stay there. The number of anthroponyms of Arab origin is still appreciable. Miravet To get there, continue south to the C-12, and Mora de Ebro, take the T-324 also to the S. Castle. This fortress was built between c. X-XI to ensure control over a stretch of the river Ebro. He became one of the strongest strongholds of the southern sector of the new Catalonia. In 1153, it was conquered by the Count Ramon Berenguer IV, which gave the Knights Templars, who built the new center and made a powerful Templar. The castle is divided from a large body at the far western mostly Andalusian bill. They emphasize the three towers and a cistern of Andalusi origin. The bodies located in the N and E correspond to the reform of the century Templar XII. Xerta Reached resuming the C-12 direction S. Weir Xerta. The town, already mentioned in 1149, was part of the term of Tortosa, but there were often discussions between the authorities and xertolins Tortosa because of taxes. Finally, the title of town and the separation of Tortosa in 1628. At about 3 km from the town, the river above the weir is Xerta, about 310 meters long, which gives rise to the right channel of the Ebro and the left channel of the Ebro . It was already begun in the Islamic and conditioning in mid-century Century for irrigation channels. It was opened in 1857. Tortosa Reached by the same C-12 following the downward course of the river Ebro. The Suda. Tortosa was conquered by the Arabs between the years 713-718 and became the end of the century X, the capital Taifa of Tortosa. This period coincided with regional economic and cultural revitalization of the city. The acropolis fortress was transformed into Arabic: Suda. Also known as the Castle of San Juan, this fortress, built in s. IX-XII to protect the city and its river port, dominates the city. In Taifa period, possibly housed in a palace like Balaguer and Lleida. The city capitulated in 1148 and the manor was divided domain: given to the Knights Templars and Guillem Ramon de Montcada tenure Suda. Has undergone significant changes over the years. In 1972, became the Parador Nacional de Turismo and intervention decisively affected structures Andalusia. The western façade retains seven towers that although they have been rebuilding have still kept the distances and the alternation of the Andalusian world. The OS is the remains of maqbara, necropolis consists of different types of burials. Treasury of the Cathedral. The cathedral is Gothic and was begun in 1347. The facade is expiring between 1728 and 1757. The rich history and treasure of the cathedral, preserved medieval tapestry The Last Supper, attributed to Joseph Bank, a wooden chest Arabic and ivory, silver high altar and two small shrines of the tape. Archives and Chapter Library. Located within the premises of the headquarters, now under restoration, they have remarkable medieval manuscripts. End of itinerary. Counties: Baix Ebre | Walnut | Ribera d'Ebre | Segrià Distance: 216.0 km Signage: Yes Duration: 48 hours Topics: Culture     Criteria of usage of these routes   See restaurants here See hotels here Source: Government of Catalonia. Directorate General of Tourism / Data Update: 24/03/2006 



Tags: costa dorada, mont-ral, visit salou, visit cambrils, visit tarragona, visit reus, visit la pineda playa
REQUEST MORE INFORMATION BY EMAIL
* Name and Surname * Question
Telephone
* Email
*I accept the Conditions of Use
*
Return
Booking hotels
+ Salou.com