We use cookies and third-party cookies to gather information in order to improve our services and analyze your browsing habits. If you continue to browse, we consider you accept this use. You can get more information, or how to change the settings, in our Cookie Policy

Leisure, tourism and weekend
Arrival & transport Arrival & transport
Hotels and Aparthotels Hotels and Aparthotels
Apartments to rent Apartments to rent
Camping Camping
Beaches and nudist beaches Beaches and nudist beaches
Food and Drink Food and Drink
Discover Salou Discover Salou
PortAventura and more PortAventura and more
Shopping and Services Shopping and Services
The Night The Night
Tours and excursions Tours and excursions

Salou / Information / Discover and sightseeing

From Gandesa to the Santuario de Fontcalda

From Gandesa to the Santuario de Fontcalda

 Gandesa is the head of the county. It has been since antiquity a crossroads between Catalonia, Aragon and Valencia, as evidenced by the existence of archaeological Coll del Moro, which presents human settlements since the year 800 a. C. In 1153, Ramon Berenguer IV gave the castle to the Order of the Templars of Gandesa, as part of the term of Miravet. Subsequently, in 1192 he was given letter of settlement. In the early century XIV Gandesa territories were ceded to the Order of the Hospitallers, who replaced the Templars in the lordship of this land. With the new territorial organization, the region was known as la Castellana Amposta, and Gandesa was the headquarters of the Great Spanish. In 1319 Gandesa was given to the compilation of legal customs Miravet, and in 1338 the Parliament met in Parliament during the reign of Peter the ceremonious. Walking through the old quarter of the population can see the arcades of the square, the Gothic windows of the old town hall, jail and several stately homes such as home Lior, of Sunyer the house, the ancestral home of the Barons ca Purroi and the Inquisitor. Archpriest of the Assumption Church, Gothic was built during the first quarter century XIII. Romance has a part that includes the polygonal apse and the side wall of north wind. The facade was made according to the canons of the School of Lleida and the whole stands Baroque bell square base. The Winery Cooperative is a modernist building built in 1919 by Cesar Martinell. It is interesting to note the original placement of water tanks on the roof. Inside we can admire the unique parabolic balanced, made of brick. 5 km to the west by the N-420 toward Caseres, there is the interesting archaeological Coll del Moro. It consists of an Iberian settlement and necropolis of three sectors, called "Maries." To go to the shrine of Fontcalda leave in the direction of Gandesa, Pinell de Brai for the C-43. About 2.6 km then turn right, there is a deviation that leads to the area Fonteta. There starts the track in just over 7 km, leads to the shrine of Fontcalda. Throughout the trip we enjoy a unique landscape of great beauty. The chapel is at the bottom of the valley, the river Canaletes. The fountain known as "The Xorros" flowing at 25 degrees and its hot springs have curative properties. A little further up, on the other side of the river, shows the route of the Greenway from Terra Alta, reserved for walkers, cyclists and riders. In Fontcalda, it makes a pilgrimage every first Sunday of May. Landmarks the Prison Ca Inquisido The house of the Barons of Purroi House Sunyer House Lior Church of the Assumption Counties: Terra Alta Distance: 20.0 km Climb Slope: 120.0 m Descent Altitude: 120.0 m Signage: Yes Duration: 2 hours Topics: Nature | Culture     Criteria of usage of these routes   See restaurants here See hotels here Source: Government of Catalonia. Directorate General of Tourism / Data Update: 30/11/2002

Tags: costa dorada, mont-ral, visit salou, visit cambrils, visit tarragona, visit reus, visit la pineda playa
* Name and Surname * Question
* Email
*I accept the Conditions of Use
Booking hotels
+ Salou.com